Recipient of Churchill Fellowship 2020
Published 28 Sep, 2020

​It’s an honour to announce that I’ve today been named a Churchill Fellow for 2020. I’ll be undertaking research around the world (when possible) to investigate vocal technique and care of the transgender singing voice in the applied voice studio.

As well as the Churchill Fellowship, I’ve been awarded the Dr Iain C. Medgett Churchill Fellowship – for research into music & singing.

Whilst international travel is not possible at present due to the COVID-19 pandemic, I’m extremely excited to be given this opportunity.

A big thank you to everyone that supported me in the application process – you know who you are! ​

About the Churchill Fellowship

A Churchill Fellowship offers everyday Australian citizens a life-changing opportunity to travel overseas for four to eight weeks to explore a topic or issue that they are passionate about. As an internationally recognised award, recipients gain access to expertise from around the world.Churchill Fellows are making a difference every day in all aspects of Australian life, across an incredibly broad and diverse range of issues such as agriculture, health, arts and music, building and architecture, business, sport, science, environment and more. More than 100 Churchill Fellowships are awarded to Australians from all walks of life every year. The process is competitive however there are no academic qualifications required to apply.

About the Dr Iain C. Medgett Churchill Fellowship

Dr Iain C. Medgett was an outstanding research scientist and talented musician who lost his life as a result of a tragic accident in the United States. Dr Medgett played the violin, the viola and oboe, led the Melbourne Youth Orchestra, was a member of the Australian Youth Orchestra and sang in several of Melbourne’s best choirs. His professional career included pharmacological research in Melbourne, London, Paris and Philadelphia. To honour his memory his mother set up a Trust which eventually passed its funds over to the Churchill Trust for the administration in perpetuity of the Dr Iain C. Medgett Churchill Fellowship.